When life throws a punch you better punch back (harder)

When I was younger I had no real idea what TAKE THE GOOD WITH THE BAD meant. It seemed like words to say to sound worldly or experienced. Now that I am older, the way that my life played out, I understand it better. Take the good with the bad means there should be a lot of good in your life and there may be some bad. Go ahead and take the bad so that you can really celebrate the good. If you do not take the bad you may not get all the good you are looking for. Just like when you take medicine with orange juice. The medicine is still there you just use the orange juice to mask the bad taste. After that you feel better. Take the good with the bad. Don’t take the bad all by itself. Put some good with it and it will help you get through it faster.

I pride myself on having the perfect lifestyle and living my dreams. I have been doing this since I was young. When I was in my twenties I use to work three days a week. Which ended up being about 40 hours because I would work 10-15 hours per day. I loved it. It was easy to me and it gave me flexibility. This schedule allowed me to travel, hang out with friends and family and pursue my hobbies. I was in a band and we would perform on Saturday nights and on Sunday I would hang out with friends during the day and my parents in the evening. I was able to do everything I wanted to do. This was the perfect lifestyle for me. I enjoyed every minute of it.

By enjoying every minute of it I was not taking the good with the bad. I was just taking the good. So what was going on with the bad. I really couldn’t tell you. If anything bad, tough, hard, scarey or dramatic happened I would shut it down and do something else. I do not like suffering. I do not like pain. I am a die hard optimist who loves pleasure.

This year I have the odd feeling that I may have to do some things that I do not enjoy so much. I may have to TAKE THE GOOD WITH THE BAD. I am not saying that I will do it for very long. Nor am I saying that I am going to pretend to enjoy it. I am just saying I am going to take it.

When I was in elementary school I was a tomboy and I would teach my younger brother how to fight. I remember telling him that I let the other person get the first punch because I am a peaceful person and I need them to punch me to piss me off enough to beat the crap out of them. They would get their one punch in and I would end the fight. I didn’t like to get hit so I made sure I didn’t. I could take a punch but I didn’t like it so I would avoid their fist and come back strong with both of mine.

That is the way I am addressing this year. I will let life throw a punch but I am going to come back with a combination that will end the fight and put me on top. World champion with the PRESIDENTIAL LIFESTYLE!

So go ahead let life punch you but you better punch back. (hard) I say this with love; be peaceful and productive but don’t let anything beat you down. You do the punching. You are a fighter and a winner.

 

Younger sis Ra, Me, Older sis Calissa, Brother Yasin, Sis-in-law Taneesha

 

About Kiné Corder

Kine' Corder is a best selling author, speaker, and member of the Financial Therapy Association. Formerly a Morgan Stanley Financial Advisor and currently a Financial Therapist Kiné runs Presidential Lifestyle, a financial wellness company focused on wealth in all of it's forms. www.presidentiallifestyle.com View all posts by Kiné Corder

2 responses to “When life throws a punch you better punch back (harder)

  • Michael Johnson

    Interesting approach to life Kine’. It’s inevitable that you take punches in life, thisis true. The scripture says, “The rain falls on the just and the unjust alike”, so no matter what path you set out on, you will have an occasion to be rained upon. but when the storm is over, the sun comes out! Great post!

  • I hate good intensions « presidentialife

    […] even if it becomes difficult. Good credit means I know what I am asking you for and I am willing to sacrifice to get it back to […]

Leave a Reply

