What you do is what you become….

This time last year....

Have you ever planned a party, a wedding, a move or anything that required a list of tasks that would ultimately lead up to the real activity. Planning a life is not much different than planning a party.

You have to make a list of what needs to be done, figure out who handles it best, delegate the tasks, then adjust the plan as new things come into play.

For today’s activity we are focusing on the part of the execution that requires you to make a to do list.

The next step in the Self Business Plan is to make a list of tasks or a to do list. Although I am sure you can handle this on your own I will still give you an example. My Vision is about building my network and subscribers. It also talks about my book, lifestyle consulting and speaking career. In order to meet these objectives I have to take steps that are going to get me there.

If my goal is to write then I have to find a way to do that. This blog is the beginning of my writing career. If I want to build subscribers I have to request it and also have content for them to read. To build my reputation I have to practice what I preach and be an example. Since what you do is what you become I have to make sure I am doing something everyday that will lead to my success.

You should have a list of task that you want to accomplish each month. The monthly to do list helps you measure whether or not you are on target and it can also hold you accountable. Use the 30 day time-frame to give yourself a realistic amount of time to get things done.

Give some thought to what you need to do in order to reach your goals. Find paper and a pen and begin your list of tasks that will get you there. What will it take to keep you on the right track and help you reach your goals? Successful people are successful because they DID the work.

When you are writing your list of tasks make sure they directly relate to the things you want to accomplish. The Olympic gold medalist may list things like buy new track shoes, schedule meeting with coach, research competitions.

Don’t be afraid to make a long list but don’t feel obligated to make one. Make a list that is directly related to what you need to do to get the things you want in your life. Be clear that all things on the list somehow relate to the goal. If your goal is to save a certain amount of money then your tasks may include clipping coupons, researching bank interest rates, making a list of free stuff, etc.

After you make this list I want you to prioritize it by picking which things you will focus on this month. In the Self Business Plan ebook there is a place for you to write down your to do’s for each month. I am a super planner so I like to assign task for each month. As I accomplish my tasks I check them off in the box next to the task. It seems silly but it will feel good to visually check things off. It helps you realize how close you are to the bigger goals.

Remember it is my believe that life is about making the things you want to do the things you have done. With that in mind get to work, make your list and begin checking things off. If you want to make your life as memorable as your last party finish the task list.

If you need help please email me at kc@kinecorder.com. If you have a friend that you think would like this blog pass it on. Feel free to post this on your Facebook or RT it on Twitter. Also, if you have not already, subscribe to this blog today.

Checking off your list…Now That’s Presidential!

About Kiné Corder

Kine' Corder is a best selling author, speaker, and member of the Financial Therapy Association. Formerly a Morgan Stanley Financial Advisor and currently a Financial Therapist Kiné runs Presidential Lifestyle, a financial wellness company focused on wealth in all of it's forms. www.presidentiallifestyle.com View all posts by Kiné Corder

Leave a Reply

