Is it SUFFERING or is it SACRIFICE?

If someone told you, you had to sacrifice in order to gain your life, would you? We often try to hold on when we should let go. Chances are, you may not know that you are holding on or you may not know that it’s holding you back. If you still haven’t found what you are looking for than chances are you have something you can let go off.

What are you willing to give up to get everything you want.  Could you stop smoking, could you stop having sex, could you stop sleeping long hours, could you stop bossing people around or could you stop eating the things you do. You must be willing to give up something to gain everything.

You may have heard me say that suffering is over-rated. I still believe that, but I don’t want you to get suffering and sacrifice confused. Suffering is when we are hurting unwillingly or hurting and we don’t know why or how we got there. Sacrificing is a choice. Many times we create our own suffering and hardships through our choices and actions.

Around this time of year Christians give up something for lent. In my experience usually people give up something physical or something external. They give up something on the outside. I want you to consider giving up something on the inside. It can be more difficult but it can also be more beneficial. Last year I gave up complaining and negativity. I was not able to complain about anything or to speak negatively about anything, anyone or even myself. That is now a part of my everyday behavior.

When you give up something or sacrifice for lent a lot of times you have it in your head that you are going to go back to it when the season is over. This time I want you, whether you are Christian or not, to give up something forever. You can start with the month of April and once you conquer that you can dedicate to keeping your new-found peacefulness.

This year, for the month of April and beyond, I am giving up worrying and obsession. I gave up obsessiveness for New Year’s but I have found myself picking it back up. I have always been a worry wort but it’s hard for people to tell because I am always so positive and easy-going. Deep down inside I am worried that I will lack something. I will no longer worry about famine or stability. I will let the universe take care of me. I will commit to resting on Sunday and not thinking about, talking about or doing any work. I will rest! During the week I will work out of love for what I do not out of fear of not having enough. I will not be concerned with how I will live, survive, gain or go on. I will be at peace.

I encourage you to give up something mental or emotional. Give up something that can change your character forever. Change yourself from the inside out. Do some soul-searching and find out what you should give up. While you are trying so hard to keep what you have you may find that you are better off without it. Do a self-evaluations there is something in your character that you can relinquish to gain your ultimate happiness.

You are one step away.  Email me your sacrifice and I will hold you accountable and you hold me accountable.

This is a picture of the Montgomery Bus Boycott. I chose this picture because it is a great example of sacrifice.

About Kiné Corder

Kine' Corder is a best selling author, speaker, and member of the Financial Therapy Association. Formerly a Morgan Stanley Financial Advisor and currently a Financial Therapist Kiné runs Presidential Lifestyle, a financial wellness company focused on wealth in all of it's forms. www.presidentiallifestyle.com View all posts by Kiné Corder

3 responses to “Is it SUFFERING or is it SACRIFICE?

  • KC

    I hope more people subscribe to this blog. It is a great way to stay motivated and encouraged.

  • Kenny Sims

    Sacrifice is needed to get to the next level of understanding. Keep writing. I am inspired by how honest you are.

  • F Simmons

    Believe me I have sacrificed. It’s not easy but when you are a mom you do it without even thinking. If you want the best for your child sometimes that requires sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

