Step 2 of the 12 step program “Create Your Perfect Lifestyle”

Step 2 of the 12 step program is to reflect on your accomplishments. Some of us brag on our accomplishments and some of us forget our accomplishments. It is important to remember them so that we keep our confidence but we do not want to become arrogant. This exercise is not to make you boastful. This exercise is design to keep you motivated and encouraged about your life and choices.

I want you to write down as many of your accomplishments as you can think of. You can go as far back as you would like to go. Even if you want to count that track meet you won back in elementary, that is fine. No matter how big or small you think they are write them down. You do not have to worry about listing them in any order, just write.

Once you have a list you are satisfied with chose one that you consider your biggest accomplishment. Find the one that makes you proud and defines who you are. I am going to tell you my biggest accomplishment. This is the short version of the story though. The long version is in my book THE ART OF STARTING OVER.

While I was working in the barbershop a little boy who stuttered came to get his hair cut. I treat all my clients the same whether they are old, young, male, female, rich, poor, it doesn’t matter. All clients get my full attention and I belong to them during their service. The little boy’s mother told me I didn’t have to listen to him because he talks to much. I jokingly told her it was ok. I was his barber and he pays me to listen to him. So the little boy went on talking and stuttering through his story about his Halloween costume. As he went on the stuttering was getting worse and it seemed almost painful. The woman could not take it anymore and I could see that she was about to tell the little boy to be quite.

Before she could say anything I stopped cutting his hair. I turned his chair around and I said, every word that you have to say to me is important. I want to hear your story. So take a breath, take your time, think about what you want to say and then say it. I am listening. He did what I advised and no lie he told the story about his vampire costume with out stuttering one word. His mother and everyone in the barber was amazed. Including me. I didn’t know that would work. I just wanted him to know he mattered.

After Extreme Makeover I went to speech therapy so that I could learn to speak with my new lips. My teacher told me that same statement. I remembered how it made me feel and I was glad that I could share it. I learned so much from that situation and that is why it is my biggest accomplishment.

I learned something, the little boy learned something, his mother learned something and who knows what other great things came out of that moment. I didn’t receive and award but the feeling in my heart was better than any award I could have received.

Write down your accomplishments and chose the biggest on that has impacted you. When you are down or going in slow motion remember it again and let it inspire you. You are great so act that way everyday.

About Kiné Corder

Kine' Corder is a best selling author, speaker, and member of the Financial Therapy Association. Formerly a Morgan Stanley Financial Advisor and currently a Financial Therapist Kiné runs Presidential Lifestyle, a financial wellness company focused on wealth in all of it's forms. www.presidentiallifestyle.com View all posts by Kiné Corder

Leave a Reply

