A background story…How did you get on Extreme Makeover?

One of the first questions people ask me when they find out I was on Extreme Makeover is, “how did I get on the show”. At the time I was pursuing an entertainment career so when my friend Vanessa Jackson heard there was an audition for a TV show she immediately called me to let me know. When I got to the audition I found out what it was really about. As I mentioned a few blog post again I had only a few moments to decide to change my life. Of course at the moment I did not know it was going to be as big a part of my life as it is. I did not go downtown that day to make a decision about getting cosmetic surgery. I went for an audition. I just thought it would be another fun day in the life of Kine’. As usual it was more than I could have imagined.

So once I made the decision to audition and let the producers know that I wasn’t happy with my lips the next step was waiting to find out if I had been selected to move on to the next step in the process. There were 6,000 other people who auditioned for the same opportunity. There is no real explanation for what happen next. Dr. Bill Dorfman, who is now one of my best friends, saw my tape and for some reason he decided that he wanted me to be on the show. He campaigned and fought for me and because of the power and influence he has I was on the show.

So it wasn’t my brains, good looks or anything I said that got me on the show. It was the grace of God, the universe and Bill Dorfman’s smart thinking that all come together at the right time to put me in the perfect place to receive this blessing. RECEIVE being the key word. We have to receive our blessing. They will not be forced on us. We can reject them, which we do many times.

I guess the answer to the question is I got on Extreme Makeover because I receive the blessing that the universe put before me. It just came to me through no action or plan or work of my own. My only job was to accept it. I did my job. I accepted it and God blessed me so greatly it changed my life.

T. Harv Eker taught me this affirmation at one of his seminars and I love it. I believe that we have to share information so I am giving it to you. It goes like this: Universe, if there is anyone out there who does not want their blessing. Please give it to me. I will accept it with great gratitude.

Say that affirmation whenever you feel sad, happy, blessed, lack, whenever you like. Just make sure you say it. I bet you there are people who are blocking their blessings everyday and we can collect those blessings. Don’t miss out. Be in the right place at the right time and receive all your blessings and more.

Be peaceful and productive, be ready for your blessings and just receive them. Be open to the possibilities. I hope this helps you understand how I think and where I am coming from. I would like us all to be blessed. Let’s get our blessings and help each other.

Feel free to subscribe to this blog and to send me feedback so I know your thoughts.

Red carpet at the 2004 ABC winter press tour in Los Angeles.

About Kiné Corder

Kine' Corder is a best selling author, speaker, and member of the Financial Therapy Association. Formerly a Morgan Stanley Financial Advisor and currently a Financial Therapist Kiné runs Presidential Lifestyle, a financial wellness company focused on wealth in all of it's forms. www.presidentiallifestyle.com View all posts by Kiné Corder

Leave a Reply

